The Joy Jar

@KaremIBarratt

Joy Jar

 

This past December 31st, as I meditated about the year that was about to close, I realized how little I remember they little joys and smiles that add light and colour to my year. My journal is rather reflective, analytical, sometime long-winded and at time a very serious study of myself, my reactions and motivations. Useful and enlightening, but with apparent little place for short shinning notes and smiling faces. Hence, my project for January first, was to create a Joy Jar. The ideas was to have a simple system to remind myself of the rainbows and butterflies that to cross my path more than once during the week. So I took a coffee glass jar, decorated with images I found pretty and inspiring (and I can get really camp), put a few jingle bells inside and a cotton wool soaked in lavender oil, and put a cute little paper pad and pen next to the jar.

If not daily, certainly weekly, I write a little, quick note about that I saw, heard or felt that made me smile and feel happy, if only for a few minutes. So far it has been anything from a sunny day to a kitten video, from a song from my teenage days to hearing my daughter laugh and play with her friends. After I put the note in the jar, I inhale the lavender aroma, and shake the jar to hear the bells. Cheesy, I know, but every time I do, I can’t help but to smile, and thoughts like “I do believe in fairies/magic/love/light/miracles I do, I do!” come to mind. My goal is that next December 31st I can take out all the notes and remember how incredible blessed I am and how sweet and joyful life can be. It may not be for everyone, but if you feel curious, do try it. The Joy Jar seems to have its very own special power. Just writing about it, makes me smile and feel happy, “like a room without a roof” 🙂

Leave a comment